Ghostbusters: Afterlife is the third entry in the Ghostbusters franchise saw the return of the original cast of Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Ernie Hudson, Annie Potts, and Sigourney Weaver alongside a new generation of characters. After the movie came out, the original cast was reportedly interested in making up to three more films for the series. In April, Sony announced at CinemaCon that a sequel to Afterlife had been green-lit. During the announcement, there was no confirmation of who would be part of the cast. Ernie Hudson, the actor who plays Winston Zeddemore, gave an update about the status of the sequel. In an interview with Comicbook.com for his new TV-series Quantum Leap, the actor revealed that he has read a version of the script. “I did read a version. I’m pretty sure they committed to doing another one,” Hudson shares. “I’m very happy with it, but I also know this is early on. Jason has been incredible, and I really just love and appreciate him. I’m so thankful to be able to work with him. So, I’m excited about but I haven’t and I never assume anything.” “I am happy, though, to have Ghostbusters in my filmography. And I’m just really delighted when I see little kids, two and three years old, singing the song and being happy about it,” the actor added. While Hudson has not confirmed his involvement in the sequel, having read the script is a positive sign of his appearance in the movie. The post-credits scene of Afterlife did set up the possibility of the original cast returning to help a new generation of Ghostbusters. Jason Reitman, son of series co-creator Ivan Reitman, will be returning to direct the new movie. His father was the producer of Afterlife. It was the last film he worked on before passing away in February of this year. Mckenna Grace, who plays Phoebe Spengler in Afterlife, recently shared her excitement about reprising her role in the sequel. She also revealed that she doesn’t know anything yet about the sequel’s plot. “I’m constantly pressuring Jason Reitman, our director, I’m always trying to figure out what the story is. I literally have no ounce of a clue what the story is. If I knew about a Marvel film or if I knew about Ghostbusters, I’d be sitting here, and I’d be like, I have no clue, and it’s driving me nuts,” the actor shared to Comicbook.com. She adds, “I’m just excited to do a second one. I’m just excited to be Phoebe.” Fans speculate the surviving members of the original Ghostbusters may play mentors to the new generation which includes Carrie Coon, Finn Wolfhard, and Mckenna Grace. The next generation of Ghostbusters is the grandchildren of Egon Spengler. If all goes well, Ghostbusters 4 will be open in theaters on December 20, 2023.

Actor Ernie Hudson confirms Ghostbusters 4 script has been completed - 21Actor Ernie Hudson confirms Ghostbusters 4 script has been completed - 73Actor Ernie Hudson confirms Ghostbusters 4 script has been completed - 61Actor Ernie Hudson confirms Ghostbusters 4 script has been completed - 58